Monday, May 20, 2013
Hot Gimmick

Hot Gimmick

Introducing

"Favorite quotes from romance manga" segment!

Basically I’ll be screen capping some of my favorite quotes from mangas involved with romance. Going to try my best to choose a scene that doesn’t spoil anything for the series

Monday, May 13, 2013

image

Chihayafuru
(Rating: 9/10)

Well, I’ve always had a soft spot for “specialized” manga. Chihayafuru is about Karuta, that occasional sport I’ve encountered in reading manga with festivals, wherein they race to get the card of the next stanza of a poem/song (at least that’s how I understand it). Since it is a traditional Japanese sport, certain aspects are hard to understand and are difficult to relate to but even so, the manga does try to explain extensively and it’s never overly complicated that readers would want to give up reading the manga altogether…

So it has that “I’m learning something new!” feeling in reading it and not to mention… love triangles. Everybody loves a good ol’ fashioned love triangle!! This one is well done and I really don’t know who to root for… but I’m leaning towards Taichi. 

Other reasons why I really like this manga is because not everyone is falling for Chihaya. It’s pointed out that she’s beautiful but despite that and being part of a love triangle, other males in the story aren’t falling for her too. Chihaya herself is a lovable character as well. She is a bit trademark shoujo naive — but all for good measure. 

I’ve got nothing but praise for this manga. In the end, I just hope things don’t become too easy for Chihaya. I’d recommend it to men too. No male characters that are too bishounen-y here!

Sunday, May 12, 2013

Futago
(Rating: 8.5/10)

Your very typical Josei manga. About a guy who lives in with a female writer  and well… you know what happens. Haha. I’ve read only up to volume 4 and it’s mostly about how they end up together and how they (might) last. There’s also another relationship in the plot, about her sister, unsatisfied with her married life.

Because it’s Iketani Rikako, the main character is deep, mature and insecure. Which makes her very likable for me. Haha. There are sex scenes but nothing too explicit and unnecessary. 

If you’re into Josei, then this will entertain you. I’m not sure if it’s the kind readers remember, but it’s enough for any escapism needs.

image

Six Half
(Rating: 9/10),

You know how Shoujo manga-s have these really shallow main characters sometimes?

Nope nope. None of that here! It’s like Mean Girls except Regina George got amnesia and has now totally ditched her posse. On to her new life as Regina George #2. I swear. Haha. And she has all these existential thoughts about being reborn and belonging etc etc etc

I’ve always had a weakness for high school reads, especially the ones that focus on girl friendships. This read is one of those. The romance is different, the “forbidden” type I guess. Because of her rotten personality pre-amnesia, people around the main character seem to dislike her but it’s done in such a way that the reader will root for her, maybe even in her twisted love (not too twisted!!)

A deeper shoujo manga. Not fluffy. One of those “this is different but not too off tangent.” Definitely recommended. I think guys will like it too!

Wednesday, May 2, 2012
Auto Focus(Rating: 7.5/10)
Into photography? Then this manga is for you!
Nah, not really. Do not let the title or the picture mislead you. There are a few times this manga talks about photography but it’s not its focus. Although readers who are interested in photog, may be able to relate to the heroine.
Your typical love triangle, with the step brother in the mix. How their relationship develops ain’t bad, it’s not mediocre or typical, honestly for me it’s something new. The heroine is one of those who girls who have difficulty being honest with their feelings. If you like that kind, then hurry and pick this up.
This read is mostly drama and angst. Recommended for those who usually read shoujo. 

Auto Focus
(Rating: 7.5/10)

Into photography? Then this manga is for you!

Nah, not really. Do not let the title or the picture mislead you. There are a few times this manga talks about photography but it’s not its focus. Although readers who are interested in photog, may be able to relate to the heroine.

Your typical love triangle, with the step brother in the mix. How their relationship develops ain’t bad, it’s not mediocre or typical, honestly for me it’s something new. The heroine is one of those who girls who have difficulty being honest with their feelings. If you like that kind, then hurry and pick this up.

This read is mostly drama and angst. Recommended for those who usually read shoujo. 

Oishii Kankei(Rating: 9/10)
Time for a josei review!
A Delicious Relationship is what it is, delicious to devour. (harhar) A sort of riches to rags story. Momoe’s dad dies and she if forced to live in circumstances she is not used to, mainly eating in high-class restaurants that her father so loved. She starts working at this diner, and falls for the head chef.
Definitely recommending this, but I’ve read other reviews about the romance in it being frustrating. Momoe and Oda-san aren’t really lovey dovey and for the most part, the manga doesn’t focus on their romance. If anything, it looks into Momoe’s growth as a person and how she affects the people around her with it. She’s a lovable character, I’m sure everyone has someone like her in their life.
This manga is josei, so I’d advice pre-teens to stay away from it. More of the slice of life type, so pick this up if you’re in the mood for that.

Oishii Kankei
(Rating: 9/10)

Time for a josei review!

A Delicious Relationship is what it is, delicious to devour. (harhar) A sort of riches to rags story. Momoe’s dad dies and she if forced to live in circumstances she is not used to, mainly eating in high-class restaurants that her father so loved. She starts working at this diner, and falls for the head chef.

Definitely recommending this, but I’ve read other reviews about the romance in it being frustrating. Momoe and Oda-san aren’t really lovey dovey and for the most part, the manga doesn’t focus on their romance. If anything, it looks into Momoe’s growth as a person and how she affects the people around her with it. She’s a lovable character, I’m sure everyone has someone like her in their life.

This manga is josei, so I’d advice pre-teens to stay away from it. More of the slice of life type, so pick this up if you’re in the mood for that.

Kareshi no Kanoujo(Rating: 8.5/10)
Kare Kano, one of the manga everyone has an opinion about. Either it’s overrated, rated fine or the favorite shoujo manga.
Yukino is the perfect student but it’s all an act. She meets her match in fighting for the spotlight when she meets Arima, someone who’s seemingly perfect as well. One encounter outs her secret and she becomes a slave for him and TADA they develop feelings for each other.
So it looks like a very normal shoujo manga, but it’s not too normal. There’s a bit of a dark tone in the later parts. And if you don’t like Yukino and Arima much, there are the stories of other characters as well, and they’re not bad.
It’s a manga that will more or less keep you interested in the end. I have mixed feelings about the ending, that maybe it’s too unrealistic or cliched thus my less than perfect rating.
It’s a shoujo manga, and that’s what you get. A bit of fluff, romance and drama.  More appealing to girls, and I think the younger audiences will appreciate it more.

Kareshi no Kanoujo
(Rating: 8.5/10)

Kare Kano, one of the manga everyone has an opinion about. Either it’s overrated, rated fine or the favorite shoujo manga.

Yukino is the perfect student but it’s all an act. She meets her match in fighting for the spotlight when she meets Arima, someone who’s seemingly perfect as well. One encounter outs her secret and she becomes a slave for him and TADA they develop feelings for each other.

So it looks like a very normal shoujo manga, but it’s not too normal. There’s a bit of a dark tone in the later parts. And if you don’t like Yukino and Arima much, there are the stories of other characters as well, and they’re not bad.

It’s a manga that will more or less keep you interested in the end. I have mixed feelings about the ending, that maybe it’s too unrealistic or cliched thus my less than perfect rating.

It’s a shoujo manga, and that’s what you get. A bit of fluff, romance and drama.  More appealing to girls, and I think the younger audiences will appreciate it more.

Natsu no Zenjitsu(Rating: 9/10)
Like crack this manga. I adore it, love it, revel in it.
It revolves around this man and this woman (when doesn’t it). They have sex on the 2nd chapter, which is not a moment too soon in my opinion. Aoki is a painter and his leading girl is someone well-known in his world of art. He struggles with a bit of insecurities and the lack of assurance he has on their relationship. 
It has a lot of sex scenes but all tastefully done. It’s not smut, it’s tagged as mature. The art is beautiful and Aoki is just adorable.
So yes yes yes, read Natsu no Zenjitsu. However, I don’t recommend it for youngsters, 15 and up would be the right audience for this.
It’s a nine because it’s yet to be finished, and I do hope my rating will only go up or maintain.

Natsu no Zenjitsu
(Rating: 9/10)

Like crack this manga. I adore it, love it, revel in it.

It revolves around this man and this woman (when doesn’t it). They have sex on the 2nd chapter, which is not a moment too soon in my opinion. Aoki is a painter and his leading girl is someone well-known in his world of art. He struggles with a bit of insecurities and the lack of assurance he has on their relationship. 

It has a lot of sex scenes but all tastefully done. It’s not smut, it’s tagged as mature. The art is beautiful and Aoki is just adorable.

So yes yes yes, read Natsu no Zenjitsu. However, I don’t recommend it for youngsters, 15 and up would be the right audience for this.

It’s a nine because it’s yet to be finished, and I do hope my rating will only go up or maintain.