Sunday, July 20, 2014

Dear Mine
(Rating: 8/10)

Satoko is a very simple girl who enjoys simpe things. One day, she gets rescued by a small boy… and she’s actually…. arranged to marry him! *gasp*

Mentioning it again, I have a soft spot for manga with arranged marriage as a theme. AND, a soft spot for the older female, younger male thing. So yes, I enjoyed Dear Mine. Fuuma, the young boy, is so lovable and cute. He endures a lot of insecurities to prove himself to Satoko. Some people may be a bit bothered by the art, because it’s kind of messy. Fuuma is also remarkably mature for his age but that’s because you know, he’s a prodigy (can’t have an older female, younger male thing w/o the guy being a prodigy). And what I love about the OF, YM is that the leading male is always this snarky and overconfident brat but inside-very-insecure brat which I just LOVE. 

Not exactly new shoujo but it’s a nice read and will tug your heart strings a few times. For typical shoujo lovers!

Saturday, July 19, 2014

Vahlia no Hanamuko
Rating: 10/10

Vahlia was originally betrothed to Jiru but he disappears and Vahlia becomes engaged to his younger brother instead. Ahh, the angst!!!

Oh my gosh. Don’t you just love well-executed arranged marriage shoujos?? One of my favorite categories! Just to clarify, I’m reviewing only the first story of this collection of one-shots. Anyway, so yeah, this one-shot was perf. The art was beautiful and there were a lot of “quiet moments,” which hint what the character is feeling (I don’t think there were a lot of thought bubbles, if you read other Akizuki Sorata manga, that’s how her work usually is. It’s a nice touch.) I would have the reveal of the ~*unexpressed emotions*~ a bit different but really, a must read if you like shoujo one-shots.

This isn’t too fluffy so I’d think even non-regular shoujo manga readers will like this (maybe a bit of the older audience).

Akai Michi
Rating: 10/10

The female protagonist is unreasonably calm. She wakes up one day to find a red thread tied to her pinky.

Shoujo one-shots are quick fix to that romance crave. I’ve read a lot of one-shots and very few stay with me. Akai Michi is definitely a one-shot that I will remember. Not to mention I’ve always loved the question of self-fulfilling prophecies with soul mate traditions or folk tales. This story obviously explores the “red thread” belief Japan has.

It’s so cute, guys. If you are a typical shoujo reader, read this!

Friday, June 20, 2014

Thank you for 100 followers!

This blog has been going on for almost three years now. I don’t check on it regularly but I’m grateful for the people who take the time to read my reviews. I hope they’ve been useful for you in someway.

I’d love to review more regularly but I could really use some recommendations or request. Please don’t hesitate to use my ask to do so! :)

Here’s to more manga!

image

Kimi Kara no Resume
(Rating: 8/10)

She’s your ordinary office lady. But then… her super duper handsome and successful boss tells her “I love you”?! 

Typical OL Josei manga. It’s not bad but the scanlations available online are of poor quality (so warning you). I wouldn’t let the LQ scans bother you though. This is one fine piece of josei manga. The character development is great. Also, the heroine isn’t super dependent on her boyfriend boss. Their growth as a couple is well-executed. Other people in the workplace are also featured… like her friend who wants a career in music but because of financial problems, she’s forced to look for a corporate job and, another OL who writes manga and is only waiting for her big breakthrough.

Good read. Although Mr. Boss Boyfriend is a little too good to be true (meh, it’s josei after all). There’s a lot of office lady josei manga but I’d have to say Kimi Kara no Resume dealt with the setting more maturely than others.

Recommended for people who love OL manga, people who love josei or shoujo (maybe 14+). Prooobably not for guys.

Kimi Wa Pet
(Rating: 7/10)

A lot of people say this is a must-read Josei. It’s about career woman Sumire finding home in Momo, a guy whom she adopts after seeing him sleeping in a box along the streets. Not bad, kinda new concept. Slow romance since miss career woman is in a relationship with a sempai she’s always adored since for-ever.

I don’t like it. I mean, it’s not bad. It kept me interested the first few chapters but for me it was kind of dragging. I usually appreciate slow romances but the build up for me was weak. And for josei it’s… immature. Like really, Sumire was actually really ugly before but then she had a makeover for a sempai she’s now working with?? Too shoujo-y. My expectations were a bit different since it’s this well-known josei manga. 

That said, I’d recommend it for people who enjoy shoujo and want to try something different. This is very light Josei. I don’t think guys would like this.

Monday, May 13, 2013

image

Chihayafuru
(Rating: 9/10)

Well, I’ve always had a soft spot for “specialized” manga. Chihayafuru is about Karuta, that occasional sport I’ve encountered in reading manga with festivals, wherein they race to get the card of the next stanza of a poem/song (at least that’s how I understand it). Since it is a traditional Japanese sport, certain aspects are hard to understand and are difficult to relate to but even so, the manga does try to explain extensively and it’s never overly complicated that readers would want to give up reading the manga altogether…

So it has that “I’m learning something new!” feeling in reading it and not to mention… love triangles. Everybody loves a good ol’ fashioned love triangle!! This one is well done and I really don’t know who to root for… but I’m leaning towards Taichi. 

Other reasons why I really like this manga is because not everyone is falling for Chihaya. It’s pointed out that she’s beautiful but despite that and being part of a love triangle, other males in the story aren’t falling for her too. Chihaya herself is a lovable character as well. She is a bit trademark shoujo naive — but all for good measure. 

I’ve got nothing but praise for this manga. In the end, I just hope things don’t become too easy for Chihaya. I’d recommend it to men too. No male characters that are too bishounen-y here!

Sunday, May 12, 2013

Futago
(Rating: 8.5/10)

Your very typical Josei manga. About a guy who lives in with a female writer  and well… you know what happens. Haha. I’ve read only up to volume 4 and it’s mostly about how they end up together and how they (might) last. There’s also another relationship in the plot, about her sister, unsatisfied with her married life.

Because it’s Iketani Rikako, the main character is deep, mature and insecure. Which makes her very likable for me. Haha. There are sex scenes but nothing too explicit and unnecessary. 

If you’re into Josei, then this will entertain you. I’m not sure if it’s the kind readers remember, but it’s enough for any escapism needs.

image

Six Half
(Rating: 9/10),

You know how Shoujo manga-s have these really shallow main characters sometimes?

Nope nope. None of that here! It’s like Mean Girls except Regina George got amnesia and has now totally ditched her posse. On to her new life as Regina George #2. I swear. Haha. And she has all these existential thoughts about being reborn and belonging etc etc etc

I’ve always had a weakness for high school reads, especially the ones that focus on girl friendships. This read is one of those. The romance is different, the “forbidden” type I guess. Because of her rotten personality pre-amnesia, people around the main character seem to dislike her but it’s done in such a way that the reader will root for her, maybe even in her twisted love (not too twisted!!)

A deeper shoujo manga. Not fluffy. One of those “this is different but not too off tangent.” Definitely recommended. I think guys will like it too!

Wednesday, May 2, 2012
Auto Focus(Rating: 7.5/10)
Into photography? Then this manga is for you!
Nah, not really. Do not let the title or the picture mislead you. There are a few times this manga talks about photography but it’s not its focus. Although readers who are interested in photog, may be able to relate to the heroine.
Your typical love triangle, with the step brother in the mix. How their relationship develops ain’t bad, it’s not mediocre or typical, honestly for me it’s something new. The heroine is one of those who girls who have difficulty being honest with their feelings. If you like that kind, then hurry and pick this up.
This read is mostly drama and angst. Recommended for those who usually read shoujo. 

Auto Focus
(Rating: 7.5/10)

Into photography? Then this manga is for you!

Nah, not really. Do not let the title or the picture mislead you. There are a few times this manga talks about photography but it’s not its focus. Although readers who are interested in photog, may be able to relate to the heroine.

Your typical love triangle, with the step brother in the mix. How their relationship develops ain’t bad, it’s not mediocre or typical, honestly for me it’s something new. The heroine is one of those who girls who have difficulty being honest with their feelings. If you like that kind, then hurry and pick this up.

This read is mostly drama and angst. Recommended for those who usually read shoujo.